- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16978Law 11 - Offside 9/29/2007RE: competitive Under 14 Ed of Denver, Co usa asks...This question is a follow up to question 16169 So, if the attacking player #11 finds himself in and offside position while attacking player #8 is dribbling down field, #11 can get himself back onside as long as he is back behind the second to last defender (or last 2 defenders) before #8 makes his pass touch to #11. In other words, when the rule states "the offside positioned player must be in an onside position before ANOTHER teammate plays the ball", it doens't have to be another teammate OTHER than #8. Being back in an onside position before the last teammate, regardless of whether the player that plays the ball is the same teammate that possessed the ball when #11 was originally in the offside position will make #8 legally eligible to play the ball ? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Yes. What matters is the location of player #11 at the moment the ball is last touched by a teammate. If he is in an offside position when it is touched by his teammate and he gets involved, he is offside. If he is not in an offside position when the ball is lasted touched by a teammate, then he is good to go.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson You got it Ed. As a player dribbles the ball he is constantly retouching it . With evey touch of the ball the offside resets as the new snap shot camera in the AR's mindseye fixes the position of the players at the precise moment each touch has occurred! A new touch of the ball by another teammate or a new touch of the ball by the same team mate . It is the same thing in determining POSITIONAL restrictions as per LAW 11! Players move as the ball moves so when the ball is next played or touched changes could have occurred whereby those formerly restricted are not and those who were not, are!! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Right. Player #11 can be offside or onside while #8 is dribbling the ball. It only matters where he is when the ball is actually played to him when considering offside.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16978
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|