Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16994

Law 11 - Offside 9/30/2007

RE: Comp Under 14

Rob Johnson of Folsom, CA USA asks...

A Center-mid on our team took a shot at goal from around the PK hash-mark, there were about 8 players from both teams in the general area at the time of the shot. Once the shot was kicked, our L-forward raced toward the goal in case of a rebound; she is now ahead of everyone except the goalie. The shot ricochets off the leftside post where said forward is able to deflect it back into the goal. The AR raises his flag, saying the forward was offside. The Center agrees, and it's called no-goal.

Is this right? Is the goal post considered its own passer, or the beginning of a new sequence? Or, is the original kicker, the Center-mid, the original passer, and therefore the goal should have counted?

My own take is that the AR was confused by the action and didn't realize that the forward was behind defnders when the ball was originally kicked.

Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Rob,
Your use of the word *behind* is scary here because if your striker was in fact closer to the opposing goal line than the second last opponent and the ball when the shot was taken she was *offside positioned= part (1)* and thus restricted from participation in play. The rebound of the ball off the post would qualify her as gaining an advantage. She is quilty of offside involvement = part (2) and an INDFK out is correct!

If your striker was onside (behind the ball at the shot or had two oponents between her and he opposing goal line when the shot by the team mate was taken she can run past all opponents and wait for the ball standing on the goal line if she wishes and legally play the ball. The fact she looks offside because of the rebound is again of no consequence because a deflection of the ball off an opponent, goal post, crossbar or even the referee changes nothing.
What was in effect, remains in effect!

If she was onside before she is onside after.

The first line of law 11 states clearly it is NOT an offence to be in an offside position. Here your striker was onside in an offside looking position BECAUSE she got there AFTER offside/onside positions were established way back when the shot (last team mates touch of the ball occurred)

Her involvement is NOT restricted because she was not offside positioned when the last touch of the ball by the team mate occur.

Ball movement and player movement change the look of things.

A good AR must focus on a picture memory of where positions were at the time of the kick and apply them when the ball is next played!

onside player involved with play (-1) in an offside position (+1) = 0
offside position player (+1) not invoved in play (-1) = 0
offside positioned player (+1) involved in play(+1) = 2 (indfk out for an offside infringment)

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If a player is not in an offside position at the time the ball is last touched by a teammate, there is no offside.

If the player was in an offside position at the last touch, then he then becomes involved in play, he is offside.

In either case, it doesn't matter where the player receives the ball or if there was a rebound off the post, the goalkeeper or a defender.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Rob, depends on where your L-Forward was at the moment the ball was kicked by her teammate. If she was NOT closer to the opposing goal then both the ball and the next to last opponent at the time of the shot, she's free to run up and play the ball. But....you don't tell us specifically where she was at the moment the ball was kicked. You say she was "behind" defenders but that could mean anything depending on your take.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16994
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>