- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17020Law 15 - Throw In 10/1/2007RE: Gold level Under 16 Steve Wyllie of Victoria, Canada asks...When an individual does a throw-in, what constitutes a foot foul? I understand that both feet have to be on the ground but my question is 1. Can a foot be on the line with none of the foot onto the field of play? 2 Can a foot be on the line and also on the field of play? I was taught that the line was in play and any contact with the line with your foot was a foul. I recently had a discussion with a ref that said that as long as your foot is on the line, you are OK even if your foot goes 6-8 inches into the field of play. Help! Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The part of each foot must be on the line or on the ground off the field where the ball left play. If 1 mm of each foot is on the line and the rest of both feet are on the field then part of each foot is on the line. It is a simple thing. Is it where the ball left the field? Is part of each foot on the line or where the ball left the field? That is all that matters as far as the feet are concerned.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino AT least part of each foot must be on the line or outside the line on the ground in touch. 2. Since the touchline is considered to be part of the field of play, technically the foot if on the touchline is ON the field of play. But the Law tells us that on a throw-in that each foot must at least in part be TOUCHING the touchline so you cannot put your foot onto the field of play that is NOT part of the touchline. It would be infinitely easier if FIFA would just say you have to be completely off the field of play but that's not what the Law says and we all have to abide by it.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Law 15 says part of each foot must be either on the touch line or on the ground outside the touch line. So as long as some part of the foot is on the line or behind the line, that part of the requirements for a good throw in have been met.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Part of each foot must be on the line or on the ground outside the field. Also, the thrower must be w/i 1 yard of where the ball went out.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17020
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|