Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17026

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/1/2007

RE: select Under 11

Jeff Wiesner of Garden City, Michigan usa asks...

I understand that the keeper cannot willingly set the ball down onto the turf and pick it back up again inside the box, but what if he just drops it-accidentally -prior to distribution and scoops it up again with his hands? Does the indirect free kick still apply in this situation?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Same difference whether accidentally or on purpose - he just cannot let go of it and then pick it up again without an IDFK being awarded against his team, assuming the first touch was not a save (meaning he didn't have control of it with his hands, he just punched it away).



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jeff,
it could but in some cases no reason it should!
It will depend on the referee and perhaps the trivial or doubtful nature of the event perhaps taking into account the age and skill level possibly the weather conditions. It really boils down to the 6 seconds of allowable hand use! A keeper can bounce the ball so if it hits the ground and he picks it up it is a funny bounce. If no opponent is nearby and no challenge forth coming certainly doubtful ,accidental and therefore trivial in the need to be called!
Now if the wind was blowing and it minus degrees where the hands are blocks of ice I might cut the guy some slack. Still a mistake is a mistake and no reason to be gifted a redo if say the keeper was foolishly bouncing the ball and say it hit his foot and karomed off.
If we do cut slack and allow it the 6 seconds of possession are ticking away the whole time best get rid of that ball ASAP! Cheers!



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The Law states "touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player".

It's a simple statement, yet it's so easily misunderstood by those who will read into it what they want. If the goalkeeper is just a klutz and just can't hang onto it without it falling to the floor I tend to agree with what Ref Dawson says. A competent keeper, those above age seven or eight, who looses the handle and tries to use his hands needs to have some reason for learning better coordination so I tend to agree with Ref Maloney. Bottom line, when you release the ball from your hands it must touch another player before you can grab hold again. Eleven year-olds know this too...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17026
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>