- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17040Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/2/2007RE: REC Under 13 Frank of laguna beach, ca usa asks...A Red Team attacker fouls a Blue Team defender in the Blue Team defender's penalty area and the referee signals for a free kick. The Blue Team taker of the kick kicks it back towards the Blue Team goalkeeper and the Blue Team goal. The Blue Team goalkeeper deliberately handles the ball in an attempt to stop the ball from going into the goal and, although he succeeds in deflecting it, the ball continues into the Blue Team's goal, crossing the goal line between the posts and under the crossbar. What is the proper decision and restart? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol This sounds like a test question or trivia contest.
The correct restart is a retake of the free kick. This is because the ball was never in play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Law 13 says on any free kick taken within a team's own penalty area the ball is in play when it is kicked directly beyond the penalty area. It used to add "into the field of play". So this ball was not kicked beyond the penalty area before it was touched, in fact it never was kicked beyond the penalty area, it is therefore not in play. The original free kick must be retaken.
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17040
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|