Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17048

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/2/2007

RE: Professional

Cole Frank of rhame, North Dakota United States asks...

If i hand ball occurs and the person guilty of the infringement foot is on the penalty area line but the actual infringement is outside the penalty area is it a penalty? I cant find the answer really in law 14 or 13.

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Where did he handle the ball? Not with his foot, clearly. It had to be with his hands, and that's where both the ball and the infraction occurred, which in the scenario you gave us was outside the penalty area. Direct free kick restart. Possible caution for unsporting behavior depending on the circumstances and your referee's opinion that day.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The reason you had difficulty finding the answer to this one in Law 13 and 14 is that it doesn't appear there, it is in Law 12. Look at the bottom of the Direct Free Kick paragraph and you'll find this: A direct free kick is taken from where the infringement occurred.* [see page 3]

Here the hand made contact with the ball where? So the actual infringement is located where?

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

All handling violations occur where the BALL is. If a player deliberately handles the ball outside of the penalty area, the restart is ALWAYS a direct free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17048
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>