Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17055

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/2/2007

RE: Youth Travel Under 13

Tom of Red Lion, PA York asks...

A defender passes the ball back to the keeper standing on his/her goal line and the keeper stops the ball from going in the goal with their hands. Is this a PK for dening a goal or an inderict free kick for the attacking team on the goal area (six)?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

It could never be a penalty kick if the keeper uses his hands. And it is not denying a goal by handling, since the keeper can always use his hands inside his own penalty area. The worst that can happen is an indirect free kick to the other team at the top of the goal area line closest to where the GK was standing because the goalkeeper violated Law 12 by picking up a ball with his hands that had been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

No No, never, never, Never, NEVER! There is nothing a goalkeeper can do handling the ball that will result in a penalty kick. Nor can she be sent off for Denying an Obvious Goal Scoring Opportunity by handling the ball inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Did we say no penalty kick for this? Indirect only. No penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Tom. Please don't tell me that you as a referee can think that ANY handling violation by the keeper can EVER result in a PK. NO! NADA! NYET!!! ALL keeper handling violations inside his penalty area result in IFKs. ALL handling violations by ANYONE outside the penalty area result in DFKs. Besides, if the ball was inadvertantly shot at the players own goal, how is this even worthy of being an infraction?



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17055
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>