- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17067Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/3/2007RE: High School High School James of Lexington, Ohio USA asks...Two quick keeper question's. At a match this week I saw 2 what I felt were strange plays by the opposing teams keeper. First the keeper is about 20 feet outside the 18 and one of his defenders drop a ball back to from the defenders feet the keeper dribbles the ball back into the box then picks it up and punts it. Is this legal? The other was when the same keeper picked up a ball near the end line carries it near the 18 drop the ball to his feet to use time after dribbling in the box for a bit picked up the ball and punted it. Is this legal?
On neither occasion did the ref call a foul. Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino 1. If the ball was kicked with the foot deliberately to the goalkeeper by one of his teammates, then the keeper dribbles it into the penalty area and picks it up, the referee should stop play and award and indirect free kick from the place where the keeper picked up the ball. If the ball was not deliberately kicked to him (from the foot) by a teammate then this is permitted.
The act of dribbling into the penalty area is irrelevant when judging this offense. It does not change whether or not the keeper is permitted to handle the ball.
2. The keeper is not permitted to do this. Once he places the ball on the ground he is considered to have put the ball into play and after he does this he may not pick it up again until it has touched another player. The penalty is (and in this case, should have been) an indirect free kick to the opposing team from the place where the keeper picked up the ball a second time.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino First (if I understand what you are saying) The keeper's teammate deliberately kicked the ball to the keeper who then dribbled it into his penalty area. He may NOT handle it. Second This is a second touch as he released the ball from his hands then picked it up again before it had touched another player. Both of these infractions should have resulted in an indirect free kick for the opponents.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17067
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|