Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17075

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/3/2007

RE: HIGH SCOOL High School

CHUCK HUETER of ROSEDALE, MARYLAND USA asks...

DEFENDER FALLS IN SIDE THE 6YD BOX HE IS THE LAST DEFENDER WHEN HE FALLS THE BALL IS ROLLING TOWARDS THE GOAL , FROM MY ANGLE WHEN HE FALLS NOW THE BALL IS GOING AWAY FROM THE GOAL AND HIS HANDS HIT THE BALL POSSIBLY UNINTENTIONAL . MY Q IS HANDBALL WITH PK OR RED CARD AND PK ?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Was the ball deliberately handled? Without that, we have nothing. No foul, no misconduct.

HS age players can be sneaky, though. Make sure that what you saw as a "fall down" wasn't a planned move. If the player deliberately went to ground and then his hands hit the ball, his deliberate actions caused a foul. Decide on misconduct on the other (de)merits of the play - likelyhood of the ball going into the goal, placement of defenders, etc.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

YOU HAVE TO DECIDE IF THE BALL WAS HANDLED DELIBERATELY. YOU SAY IT MIGHT BE UNINTENTIONAL AND IF THAT IS TRUE THEN THERE IS NO FOUL AND NO CALL.

IF THE ACT WAS DELIBERATE THEN YOU HAVE TO DECIDE IF THE BALL WOULD ENTER THE GOAL IF YOU'RE GOING TO CONSIDER A RED CARD, BUT I'M MORE CONCERNED THAT YOU HAVE NOT MADE A DECISION AS REGARDS TO WHETHER OR NOT THE BALL HAS BEEN HANDLED DELIBERATELY.

REMEMBER - IF THE BALL IS NOT HANDLED DELIBERATELY THEN IT CANNOT BE A FOUL.

BY THE WAY, DO YOU FIND IT DIFFICULT TO READ MY RESPONSE? How about now?



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Chuck. You say the handling was unintentional. If it's unintentional it's NOT deliberate. No call. Let play continue.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17075
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>