Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17113

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/5/2007

RE: Rec Under 15

Ed Zaunick of Flower Mound, tx usa asks...

A player deliberately kicks the ball to his own goalie. The goalie is in the penalty box, touches the ball with his feet and deliberately kicks the ball to his hands. Is this considered a violation of Law 12?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Yes it is! The keeper is restricted from using his hands because he originally recieved the ball from a deliberate kick to him by a team mate. It is one of the FOUR stated restrictions on illegal handling the keeper could be found guilty of inside his own penalty area if the criteria are in effect!
INDFK from where the hands contact he ball inside the penalty area subject to law 8 special circumstances in the goal area.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

This all depends on who the player was that kicked the ball to the keeper. An opponent and nothing is amiss, a team mate then what Ref Dawson states is absolutely correct.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes. If the keeper touched it with feet first it is still a foul. Mr. Fleischer is correct in stating that if it was an opponent, then it would not be a violation.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17113
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>