Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17115

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/5/2007

RE: REC Under 12

Clarence Kennedy of Laurel, Maryland USA asks...

I have a keeper who while making a punt out of the goal/penalty box steps over the line and is given a handling the ball call awarded to the other team. What should the restart be? Direct or Indirect Free Kick from the spot of the foul.

Again the foul obviously occurred outside of the penalty area due to the keeper stepping over the line of the goal area while punting.

Thank you in advance,

Clarence

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Stepping out is not a foul! Often the punt occurs several yards outside as it is tossed forward from the hands just prior to stepping out. Perfectly ok! The Keeper while holding the ball in his hands must completely carry the ball outside the penalty area before releasing the ball.
IF the transgression is not trivial, doubtful or looked at as a warning it can ONLY be a DFK from JUST outsde the penalty area boundry line!
Cheers.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

I agree with Ref Dawson, the foul/offense is not stepping out of the penalty area, it is using his hands to hold the ball outside of the penalty area. That offense is called deliberately handling the ball and as it is a Law 12 offense, is punishable by a direct free kick. The question is whether or not the ball was still in his hands when his hands left the penalty area, or had he already dropped in anticipation of the punt?



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17115
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>