Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17188

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/8/2007

RE: Select - FIFA Under 12

Tad D. Krafft of Cincinnati, OH USA asks...

The goalie from the white team came out of the penalty area. His teammate passed him the ball and he dribbled the ball with his feet back into the penalty area and picked up the ball. I was a linesman and raised my flag indicating an illegal touch. The center ref agreed and indicated an indirect kick from the spot of the foul.
The coach of the white team was not pleased and complained enough to get himself thrown out of the game. He said that it was permissable - that pro goalies do this all the time.
Would it make any difference if his teamate had or had not passed him the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I hope by "passed" you meant "deliberately kicked". If the teammate had, for example, headed the ball to the goalkeeper, the keeper is allowed to pick up the ball once he gets it into the penalty area. It would also be allowable if an opponent had played the ball to the keeper.

Good of your center to rid the game of the coach who could not conduct himself in a responsible manner.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Of course it makes a difference how he got the ball!! It's only an offence if the keeper gets the ball directly from a kick or throw by a teammate then handles the ball. You wouldn't have raised your flag if the keeper gathered a ball kicked by an opponent outside the penalty area and dribbled it inside the PA and subsequently handled it would you? Pro keepers most certainly do NOT do this all the time. Once again a coach that does not understand the Laws gets himself thrown out of a game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Actually professional keepers do not use their hands in any case where there is even the remotest possibility of committing an offence. Again the referee crew comes out correct and the coach gets a little time off so he can do other things.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17188
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>