Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17189

Law 11 - Offside 10/8/2007

RE: Competetive Under 16

Lisa Meanic of Bath , Me usa asks...

The ball is played to Player A. Player B is in an offside position just over the midfield line when the ball is played.

Player A dribbles to the top of the penalty box, then passes to player B who is now even with him at the top of the penalty box.

Ref blows the whistle for offside because Player B has become involved in the play.

Where is the ball placed for the kick? Does it go where player B was originally in an offside position near midfield, or where Player B was when the ball was played to him?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Before we determine the location of any restart, we first have to decide if there was an offense. Player A dribbled the ball past player B's original offside position near midfield. Each time A touches the ball, we have to look at B to see if he is or is not in an offside position. You said A passed the ball to B when B was even with him. Was B ahead of the ball? If not, there was no offside position so no offside offense.

If B was in an offside position at the time his teammate last touches the ball - ahead of both the ball and the 2nd to last defender, and in the attacking half - and then participates in play, the offside call should be made. The restart location is where B was when A last touched the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Can't add much to the excellent reply by Ref Voshol, but if that is the scenario, please report this to the referee assignor, as the referee needs some coaching.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17189
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>