Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17220

League Specific 10/9/2007

RE: Competive High School

Steve Cerretani of Howell, NJ usa asks...

I saw a ref stop play for an injury. He then re-started play by blowing his whistle and then rolling the ball to the keeper who picked up the ball and punted it. Is this the same as dropping the ball (to the keeper)? I can't remember if the keeper had possession of the ball when the play was stopped.

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Dropping the ball back to a keeper who had possession when the whistle was blown is often done in the spirit of the game. One has to remember the referee will do this for either team. However, rolling it back to the GK doesn't meet the test of "dropped" so I have no idea what this referee was doing. Right in the spirit, wrong in the mechanic? One assumes the GK did in fact have possession, otherwise, dropping to the GK only is problematic, as a stoppage for an injury requires a dropped ball restart. There is no requirement that any players be present for a dropped ball, and a one-sided drop as we discussed earlier is usually meant to return the game to where it was when the whistle sounded (i.e. back into the GK's possession). That's not always possible, logical or within the spirit or the Law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

In US high school this isn't correct. There must be dropped between two opposing players. If the keeper was in possession of the ball when play stopped everyone knows the referee should restart with an indirect free kick. [USA high school and college ONLY].

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The referee should restart with a dropball after an injury stoppage. The procedure for conducting a dropball was not properly taken; however by the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17220
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>