Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17225

Law 11 - Offside 10/10/2007

RE: High School J.V. Adult

Bill Parrish of Eastport, N.Y. U.S.A. asks...

This question is a follow up to question 525

After a goalie touches a shot from opponent "A", and loses control of the ball, can opponent "B" be called off-sides when he/she puts the loose ball in the goal if he/she was considered off-sides before the original shot was taken?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the goalkeeper never had control of the ball, it would be offside. This can be found in Law 11, Decision 2.

If the goalkeeper had control and gave up the ball, offside does not apply. B was given a gift and she is free to try to score.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The keeper loosing control of the ball logically infers that the keeper did have control at one time in this evolution. The opponents gaining control removes the restrictions imposed by Law 11 after a team mate touches or plays the ball and someone from that team is in an offside position. Note: there is no "-" or "s" in offside.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

It all depends on whether or not the keeper had control. If the keeper establishes control, then offside is reset and there is no offside. If the keeper never established control, then there could easily be offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17225
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>