Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17235

Law 11 - Offside 10/10/2007

RE: Competitive Under 13

John of Palo Alto, CA USA asks...

Offside question with 2 parts.

Player A has a breakaway with the ball with only Player A and the goal keeper to defend. Goal keeper comes out to challenge Player A who passes the ball back to a trailing Player B. Player A is now in an offside position.
1) Player B shoots and ball goes in goal, is it a goal despite Player A in an offside position-- at that point is A no longer involved in 'Active Play'.
2) if Player B misses or goalie deflects or hits cross bar and Player A now touches, is it offside?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

1. No offside offence unless he somehow interfered with the keeper's ability to play the ball. It is NOT an offence to be in offside position. 2. If the ball is deflected off the keeper,goalpost, or crossbar, Player A may not play the ball since he was in offside position at the time his teammate played the ball. The opposing keeper would have to control the ball in order for offside to reset.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

(Player A) has dropped the ball to a trailing team mate B so far no issues. Player B takes a shot at that moment we EVALUATE the position of (player A) because he is in an offside position he is restricted from further involvement.

It is possible the POSITION of (player A) created interference of the opposing keeper by blocking his line of sight or causing the keeper tp try to round him to get to player B who is shooting. If this was the opinion of the officials an offside infringement (interfering with an opponent) has just occurred

If (player A) stayed out of the way of the opposing keeper or any opposing player and does not touch the ball we have no issues.

However once player B shoots, if the ball deflects off the keeper , crossbar, goal post, corner post or even the referee (player A) is STILL restricted from involvement and upon the touch of the ball has gained an advantage and must be sanctioned with an indfk out.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17235
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>