- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17242Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/11/2007RE: Competitive & Tournament Under 16 Steve of Vero Beach, FL USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 17218 Thank you for your answers, i always find them insightful.
Just to clarify, the attacker was attempting to get up on a very slippery field. She did not have an opportunity to play the ball that was trapped under her. No other teammates were in the vicinity in any case. I did not blow the whistle until the defender had literally stopped play, waiting for the attacker to get up. There was no kicking or attempting to kick the attacker who was holding the ball.
Different Question:
In a Middle School game yesterday, Defender steps in from the 8:00 position on an attacker with the ball, ball is on right foot. Defender makes contact with attacker's left leg before making contact with the ball. Attacker momentarily remains in control of ball, but then looses balance. The initial contact was made 2 ft outside of the PA. I called Advantage initially and then whistled the foul when attacker lost his balance within a step or 2 of the foul.
I awarded a DFK just outside of the PA where the initial contact occurred. Of course the attackers wanted a PK, because the attacker lost control and fell inside the PA.
Was I correct in bringing the play back to the initial point of contact (advantage not realized) for the DFK? Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If she was trying to get up and couldn't because of a wet field I think I'd wait on a whistle regardless of the opponent not being able to play the ball. Your new question: hard to say. If you look at the old FIFA Q&A there's one about a hold starting just outside the penalty area but the effect of it continuing into the penalty area and a PK is awarded. But.. you were there.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol On the new question, if the foul is a single event contact that happens outside the PA, the location is outside. It doesn't matter if the player falls inside the PA. The foul moving from outside to inside the PA that Ref Contarino mentions is for a foul that has continuous or nearly continuous contact. For example a hold where the attacking player drags the holding defender along with her as she enters the PA.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17242
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|