Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17266

Law 11 - Offside 10/12/2007

Steve Smith of Rockford, IL USA asks...

Hypothetical Offside question:

Attacking Player A is in an offside position, but on the opposite side of the field from where the ball is being played, and therefore, not involved in the play or interfering with the keeper. Attacking player B, on the opposite side of the field from player A, has the ball, takes a shot on goal and the keeper catches the shot. Attacking player A remains in his offside position. Keeper tries to throw the ball over the head of attacking player A to an open teamate. However, the ball slips out of the keepers hand as he attempts the throw. The ball rolls out to the feet of attacking player A who, in turn, collects the ball, takes a shot and scores. Is attacking player A whistled for offside? My guess is yes - please confirm.

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Hi Steve,
I would say that you guess wrong. This is NOT offside. Who last controlled the ball? The keeper for the defending team. It is not an offense to be in the offside position. And an offense of offside is judged at the moment the ball is touched or played by the teammate of the player in the offside position and consequently what that offside positioned player does with his position. If I read your scenario correctly, you wrote that the defending keeper CAUGHT the ball. That keeper now has clear possession of the ball. If a keeper makes a mistake and the opponents capitalize on that mistake, that is fair play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Agree with Ref Hoelscher 100%. If the GK can catch the ball well enough to then turn and throw it, he has complete possession and control. If he then flubs it by throwing it to a player from the other team, well, that's life and a goal for the other team. Offside only applies when you receive the ball from someone on your own team or interfere with a defender or the defense in some way that gives your team an advantage. Neither applies here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The first thing a referee needs to remember in this situation is that being in an offside position is not an offence in itself. Second is offside is judged at the moment the offside player's team mate touches or plays the ball. Given those two things A is prohibited by Law 11 from involving himself from the moment B takes his shot and until there is control established by the opponents he remains "off his side" and unable to participate. The keeper catches the ball! In the meaning of International FA Board Decision 2 of Law 12 that is control of the ball.

What was your guess again? It changed didn't it?



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Steve. The opponents have received the ball and controlled it. The player formerly in offside position did nothing to interfere with the keeper. It is IMPOSSIBLE for any player to be penalized for offside when the opponents play the ball. Off side is ONLY judged when a teammate plays or touches the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Steve,
I gues I can ring that chime one more time. Guess again!
The keeper of the opposition had in fact control and uncontested ball posession of the ball and through a mistake of his own making presented a gift to attacking player A.
It was NOT a deflection or a save rebound!
The ball was CLEARLY last played/touched by the opponent (keeper) NOT a team mate!
Now as long as attacking player B does not get in the way when A is shooting.
But thats another story!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17266
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>