- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17290Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/13/2007RE: Rec Under 13 CJ of Baltimore, MD USA asks...If the attacking team takes a corner kick and the ball is handled by a defending player other than the goalie and then the ball enters the goal (i.e., completely passes over the goal line), should a goal for the attacking team be called, or should a penalty kick be called?
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If the referee has enough presence of mind to look for the advantage and not blow the whistle immediately, the goal would count.
Once the whistle sounds, play has stopped, and if the ball isn't completely across the line at that time, the goal does not count.
Unfortunately, all too often that pesky whistle goes off a moment too soon, and there's no way to unblow it.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino That depends if the referee was sensible enough to NOT blow his whistle right away when he saw the handling violation. If he blew the whistle before the ball crossed wholly over the goal line, then no goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17290
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|