- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17301Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/14/2007RE: Select Under 15 Bob Kolanko of WEIRTON, WV U.S.A. asks...If the keeper attempts to catch a ball inside his own penalty area, but a portion of his body extends beyond the line. Is this considered handling? The ball stayed inside the penalty area. Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The goalkeeper is entitled to handle a ball within his own penalty area. You say the ball is in his penalty area. Coach, tsk, tsk... If a referee gave a free kick for this forgive him for he knows not what he does.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Only the ball location, not the feet or hands or any body portion determines if the ball is inside or outside. If the curve of the ball so much as brushes the 5 inch boundry line bordering the penalty area that ball is considered as inside the area and a keeper is free to place his hands on the ball . Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Bob. Only matters where the BALL is in soccer and this is true of ALL the boundary lines.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17301
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|