- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17312Law 11 - Offside 10/14/2007RE: Adult DC of Auburn, usa asks...Player A is in offsides position, realizes this and stops moving. Player A is still in offsides position but is not interfering in the play. Player B passes the ball over the defensive line so Player C who is onsides and runs past the defensive line can collect the ball and shoot on net. The referee blows the whistle and says that player A is offsides and awards the defensive team the ball. Is this a judgement call by the referee or the correct call? Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino I don't understand your question. Is there something to imply that a judgment call is somehow incorrect?
If the referee felt that player A interfered with an opponent, or otherwise became involved in active play then the referee would be correct. If he did not observe any of those things, then he would have been incorrect. So its up to the referee's judgment which is final.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson DC, The referee's opinion rules, player A, despite your view he was not involved was deemed as involved in some manner.
All offside criteria is fairly straightforward however, without seeing the situation we can not comment on what the referee thought nor know why he choose to see things as he did.
Your premise that simply being in an offside position as not a reason to call offside is correct.. You also mention the offside positioned player was NOT interfering with ANY opponent that to, if seen as that way by a referee is a correct reason for not calling an offside positioned player offside. If player A was truly not involved up until the point player B last hit the ball into the path of player C Where was player A when player C shot? Could player A have become involved by say playing a rebound?
If the referee only chooses to see offside position as a reason to make the call well hopefully he gets some training to rectify that view! One last thing lose the (S) 0n offside Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Are you saying the referee said that Player A was being penalized for just being in offside position? If he did, this is wrong. On the other hand, it is likely the referee felt Player A in offside position had somehow interferred with play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17312
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|