- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17313Law 15 - Throw In 10/14/2007RE: rec Under 16 Tom Weller of phoenix, az usa asks...1. throw in: player attempts to throw in and ball never enters the field of play. Do over, or turn over to other team.
2. Indirect free kick: ball can be touched and roll backwards, or must roll forward 1 revolution. Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino 1. Depends. If you are playing under NFHS rules (High school soccer only) then if a throw-in doesn't enter the field of play the ball is given to the other team from the spot of the original throw-in.
If you're playing under the FIFA laws of the game (club/travel soccer, professional soccer, etc) or NCAA rules, then a ball that doesn't enter the field of play on a throw-in is retaken by the same team.
2. The indirect free kick is in play when it is kicked and moves in any direction. There is no requirement for 1 revolution.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Tom, if this was NFHS it is justification for a loss of possession the opposition takes the throw in.
Under FIFA we have two possible options if the throw in was done correctly in manner and from the correct spot if it never entered the field it is a re-throw. If however the throw in was done incorrectly the throw in is turned over to the opposition as it is in high school!
This is new in procedure as it flies in the face of the restart never put the ball actually in play. We have a similar concept in the Pk where a ball that is played backwards is a loss of possession when it states the ball must go forward to be in play!
An Indfk can be kicked in any direction but it must be kicked and seen to move from here to there not wobble or tremble from being stepped on and not continuously dragged from one point to the other. A full revolution is not required, this was removed sometime ago! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 1. Rec FIFA rules retake the throw, 2. Kicked and moved. Doesn't matter what direction. Only 2 times must be kicked and moved forward are kick-off and penalty kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17313
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|