- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17322Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/15/2007RE: REC Under 12 Victoria of Ringwood, NJ US asks...If a goalie steps outside the box with the ball in their hands what is the pentaly? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Victoria, as a referee, you should know the answer to this question. I'll help you come up with the answer in a logical way. The goalkeeper has special privileges inside her penalty area, correct? And those privileges include being able to hold the ball in their hands with no penalty. What happens when the goalkeeper is outside of her penalty area? She is just another player and may not use her hands to pick up or hold or touch the ball, just like any other player. The key question you need to answer, though, is not where is the goalkeeper, but where is the ball? If the ball is outside of the penalty area and the goalkeeper picks it up, that is one of the 10 direct free kick offenses. If the ball is inside the penalty area, and all of the goalkeeper is outside the penalty area except her hands holding the ball in the penalty area, no problem, play continues.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If the keeper is handling the ball outside her penalty area she is guilty of deliberately handling the ball. If she is just barely over the penalty area line while punting the ball, most of us would view this to be a trifling event and not blow the whistle but may have a quick word with her to be careful. If the referee decides it IS an offense then the restart is a direct free kick. Keep in mind that a keeper handling offense can NEVER result in a penalty kick
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller It matters only where the ball is. If the feet are outside the penalty area and ball is in the penalty area, then it is "ok".
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17322
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|