Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17329

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/15/2007

RE: Under 15

Brittany of Stamford, United Stated of America asks...

Does a handball result in a free indirect kick?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Not in most universes. Certainly not in those that recognize the Laws of the Game.

Deliberately handling the ball is a direct free kick offense.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Brittany,
-A ball hitting the hand provides no stoppage of any kind.
-Four specific illegal ball handling actions by a keeper can result in
an INDFK restart as mentioned in law 12 only within the keeper's
own penalty area
- the DFK (direct free kick) offence of handles the ball deliberately is
NEVER an indfk restart, those that do so have misapplied the laws
and created a protestable situation.. If this act occurs inside a player's (not the keeper) own penalty area it is ALWAYS a Penalty Kick (PK)
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

No. See the other answers for more detail, they know of what they write!



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Nope a handling the ball deliberatly foul results in a direct free kick. The ball merely hitting the hand means nothing unless the player handled the ball deliberatly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17329
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>