Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17346

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/16/2007

RE: rec Adult

alex of richmond hill, on canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17317

If the referee considers the ball has not been kicked and moved, then the restart did not happened correctly. Is it not correct that the corner kick needs to be retake. The idfk should be awarded only if the kicker touches the ball again after the ball is in play. [17317]

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Alex,
a good point, you are thinking my friend. The ball was kicked and moved when the dribble started it is true we assumed the dribbler touches the ball at least twice before the referee signals the restart as over with. A referee could in his infinite wisdom decide the corner was not authorized to be taken at all and thus all that hoopla was minor misconduct before the restart. He could as you also point out stop the culprit on the second touch of the dribble and award the INDFK.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The *first* player who merely taps the ball does not put it into play. But the *second* player, who begins to dribble away, does kick the ball. The first kick this second player makes puts the ball into play; the second kick is the infraction.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I agree with Ref Maloney's answer. The first player that toe tapped the ball didn't put the ball into play but the second player sure did and when he touched it a second time, the whistle should blow for an IFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17346
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>