Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17359

Law 15 - Throw In 10/17/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Miles Hoover of Altus, OK U.S.A. asks...

A ball rolling down the touchline went out and rolled 30 yards where it was put in play again. I whistled the play stopped and had the team retake the throw in at the spot it had crossed the touchline. A fellow referee who was playing on the team taking the throw in argued that since it was 30 yards closer to his goal he was gaining no advantage from taking it there and I should have allowed it.

The Laws as I read it says it should be thrown in at the spot it crossed the touchline. How should I have ruled?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

You were correct, the other referee was wrong.

Perhaps all of the defenders began to position themselves near the place where the ball went out. Then if you allow the other team an easy toss where there are no opponents then they get away with the ball too easily (and unfairly).

Let the law be your guide, and remind the other referee that we can't simply disregard the laws because we think one side gets less of an advantage than the other.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Miles, 30 yards is way too far away! Three yards or maybe even five yards away could be considered trifling, depending on the game and the teams, etc. However, it is always the referee who makes the decision on trifling or not, based on your read of the teams, the game and the needs to be met. You were well within your authority to insist the Law be followed. They may grumble, but they can and do recognize you know what needs to be done under the Law, so when you do bend it for the good of the game, they trust you. Shame on the ref/player! Asking you after the game, away from the field - acceptable professional behavior - arguing with you at the field should not be tolerated.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17359
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>