- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17410Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/20/2007RE: Rec Plus Under 15 Lisa of Broken Arrow, OK USA asks...If a player from team A kicks the ball to his goal keeper and no other players are around. Can the goal keeper pick the ball up? Our ref said she was kicking it backward, not passing it to the goal keeper. Is there a difference? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney If a player kicks (uses the foot) the ball deliberately to a place where his goalkeeper can pick it up, this can be considered an offense punishable by an indirect free kick under Law 12, Fouls and Misconduct. The direction the ball is kicked makes no difference whatsoever.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson The direction of the kick is not a factor if it was DELIBERATELY kicked by a team mate to the keeper. The misnomer BACK PASS is attributed to the law 12 violation as bastardization and you can see it mythesizes the law to a large extent. QUOTE FIFA LAW 12 FOULS & MISCONDUCT "Indirect Free Kick An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, ? touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate ? touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate" END QUOTE If the ball hits or deflects off the foot and or is considered not a deliberate kick then, if the referee recognizes it as so, the keeper could use their hands as normal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If a teammate of keeper kicks it to the keeper deliberatly, then the keeper cannot touch ball with hands. If he does, IFK at the spot of the handling. If handling was in goal area, then the free kick is taken at the top of the goal area closest to where the infraction occurred.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17410
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|