- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17448Law 11 - Offside 10/22/2007RE: club Under 17 John Askew of Roslyn, New York USA asks...A offensive player is clearly off sides (within 3 yards of the goal mouth) but the ball is on the opposite side of the field. The ball is taken to the end line and then crossed to the "offsides" player. Is this player now considered on sides since he is behind the ball or must something else occur before this player is considered on side? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer John don't be concerned about offside when the attack begins, get to where you need to be! Just make sure when the cross is made you are not nearer the goal line than the ball. If that's the case it is impossible for you to commit an offside offence.
It is entirely possible for a referee to say you have committed an offence even though you can't because many referees don't understand offside. If the referee screws up and gives offside when you know you're not accept it as a field condition and don't argue. All that will get you is cautioned.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If the ball is at the end (goal) line and the player in question is 3 yards from the goal line, he is not in offside position and if the ball is played to him from the goal line, he may participate in play. Offside is only judged at the moment the ball is played by a teammate and in this case no offside.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17448
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|