Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17457

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/22/2007

RE: D1 Under 14

Tim Barth of Houston, TX US asks...

A forward and a defender are competing at about the 18 for a thru-ball passed toward the goal. The defender and forward are side by side, each trying to get to the ball. The defender puts her arm out, not pushing, but in front of the neck of the attacking forward so as to keep the forward from beating her to the ball. Is this obstruction or legal play? I asked the referee after the game and he explained that yes, that is technically obstruction but that "you'll never get a call like that" because the punishment (a indirect kick at the 18?) doesn't fit the crime.
- Is it legal play?
- Is he correct that this would never be called?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Tim just because the referee made the statement he did doesn't make what happened within the Law. To me an arm against the neck is holding and something, if I can see pressure applied, that would instantly get a whistle for a direct free kick and a caution! Reason? That arm can do serious harm to the neck and I'm just not all that thrilled with having a broken player who may not be able to breathe laying on my field.

Now a referee saying that something is "technically obstruction" shows me a referee who hasn't taken a refresher since 1996! Obstruction changed to Impeding the progress of an opponent in 1997. Further, had that referee read further in the old Laws he would have found this:

"If a player intentionally stretches his arms to obstruct an opponent and steps from one side to the other, his arms moving up and down to delay his opponent, forcing him to change course, but does not make "bodily contact" the referee shall caution the player for ungentlemanly conduct and award an indirect free kick."

So we see the referee was incorrect in naming the offence and incorrect in what he should do when he sees what you describe and, I believe, incorrect in his method of dealing with the foul play.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

No, he is not correct that this will never be called, and no, it is not legal play! Ref Fleischer could hardly have done a better job in explaining what needs to be seen and how it should be dealt with on the field. Now, knowing what you know, remember it is not your place to be telling the referee this during the game! :-) It would be great if you'd get yourself to a referee class and help us out.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Not only is the referee incorrect in what he said, he has the offence wrong. This is holding and will be called inside or outside the penalty area if the referee believes it to have occurred. A referee that refuses to call fouls inside the penalty area does the game a disservice. The fact that the holding is in a very vulnerable area makes a no call even worse. I agree with Ref Fleischer, when I see an arm out that high I'm immediately thinking a card of some sort and at least a foul. Since inside the penalty area it's prudent to wait a second to see if a shot gets taken cleanly. If not, blow that whistle.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17457
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 22095

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>