Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17460

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/22/2007

RE: Select High School

Tom Prest of Lynchburg, Va USA asks...

I doubt you have had this question before...

A striker is going after the ball, and the keeper makes the save and has control of the ball in his possession. The keeper then intentionally trips the striker on the opposing team who goes down in the box. What is the correct call?

In this case the keeper was given a yellow card and a penalty kick was awarded to the striker's team. That player took the shot and scored.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

A doubting coach Tim, have never seen a doubting coach before. To determine a keeper intentionally trips anyone implies the referee is able to read the mind of the player, this is simply not possible at the present stage of human development. The referee may only judge if the trip is careless, reckless or done using excessive force. Tripping or the attempt to trip is a direct free kick offence and if done within a player's own penalty area the restart is a penalty kick. Further, a reckless trip carries with it the added sanction of a caution; a trip done using excessive force carries with it a sending-off!

So we see the referee saw things as the offence of tripping in a reckless manner. He awarded a penalty and cautioned the keeper. Well done referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The keeper had possession of the ball inside his own penalty area then decided to turn the possession over by tripping the opponent? This was seen by the referee who viewed it as reckless and awarded a PK!

A a coach I view it as a keeper looking to find a new team to play for. Perhaps the opponent got in a free shot that the referee allowed to go unpunished and this was a payback?
There are times when a keeper will get to a ball and the opponent will fall over him as part of normal play but a bit extra is often left on the field at times as well

You use the word intentional, in refereeise we assume you mean in an obvious manner which leaves no doubt and in such a way the safety of the opponent was brought into question as well as the sporting natuure of the unnecessary act thus not likely as careless.
The referee saw yellow as sufficent! Depending on the severity and nature of the physical act he could choose to see it as excessive, perhaps as violent conduct since no challange for the ball was made and thus show the red card and send off!
Just plain dumb and as a coach of the fouled player, if he puts away the PK good for him! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

My goodness! A question from my home town the Hill City!! Actually Tom we've had this and similar questions often.The keeper makes a save. All well and good. At that point no opponent may challenge him, also well and good. But now the keeper takes it upon himself to trip the striker. Not so good.If done in at least a careless manner this is a foul. Also one of the 10 offences that will result in a penalty kick if it takes place within the players own penalty area. So, if the referee believed it was a foul, the only proper restart is a penalty kick as the offence took place within the keeper's penalty area. The caution could be given for the foul being classed as reckless. This referee acted within Law and the keeper should have kept his composure.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17460
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>