Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17505

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/25/2007

RE: Gold - Competitive Under 17

Neil Grant of Surrey, British Columbia Canada asks...

I had a game where the goalie stopped a shot and ended up sitting on the ground with the ball under his legs fully protected without the use of his hands. An attacker attempted to kick the ball out from under the keeper a couple of times without success. I whistled the play dead immediately and gave a free kick to the goailies team. The attacker challenged my call saying that "he did not have his hand on the ball so it was not in control". My response was the goalie had full control holding it between and under his legs.
What is your judgement on this?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Neil,
as long as the keeper did not remain in that position for an unreasonable amount of time as with any player lying on top of the ball. I do not agree though he had uncontested possession even if was controlling the ball by covering it in a shielding fashion.

The attacker is still likely guilty of kicking or attempting to kick.

The keeper is supposed to prevent the ball from entering his goal.
If he was on top it with the ball in his belly the opponent is not going to be able to slide in feet first and push it out, it is too unsafe a tackle.

The attacker has a right to challenge but as in ANY challenge the safety of an opponent is not to be discarded. The attacker could try to pull the ball out using his foot and until the keeper actually got a finger to the ball it could be done with no real chance of injury unlike, whacking away at a tree.

If the keeper had the ball under him and was trying to get to the ball with his hands but prevented by the kicking motion the kicker is at fault in my opinion.

If the keeper simply choose to lie there and not use his hands while an opponent stood about unable to fairly play the ball in truth the keeper could be guilty of PIADM or failure to reasonably put the ball back in play. Consider if the keeper was outside his area and trapped a ball as you describe then tried to drag it back into his area whilst trapped between and under his legs?

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

I agree with my colleague and wish to add this thought, if you would have treated an outfield player in the same position and suffering a similar fate the same way you are absolutely correct in what you did. And, should the same outfield player complain the same way your answer to him was "you have no right to endanger an opponent by attempting to kick in that manner".

What you should have seen was a player playing the ball, not the goalkeeper in full control! A goalkeeper in control and unable to be challenged only happens when he has hand[s] on the ball. Until that time he may be challenged in any manner any other player may be challenged. Many years ago International FA Board Decision 12 of Law 12 said:

If, in the opinion of the referee a goalkeeper intentionally lies on the ball longer than necessary, he shall be penalised for ungentlemanly conduct and

[a] be cautioned and an indirect-free kick awarded ti the opposing team

[b] in case of repetition of the offence, be sent off the field.

This no longer appears in the Laws, as do many things, but remains in the historical record as an offence.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17505
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>