Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17535

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/27/2007

RE: Grade 7 Adult

Eric Boos of Ft. Lauderdale, FL US asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17453

The answers given by referees Fleischer and Mueller [17453] seem to suggest that player playing a ball with the top of the shoulder is guilty of deliberately handling the ball. However, the 2007 revision of the Advice to Referees clearly states:

"12.11 USE OF THE SHOULDER
For purposes of determining deliberate handling of the ball, the "hand" is considered to be any part of the arm-hand from fingertip to shoulder. Using the top of the shoulder is not considered as using the hand. (A diagram showing the area of "the hand" is shown below.)"

Just thought I would bring this to your attention. You do a great service for all soccer referees. Keep it up!

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

I'm well aware of what 12.11 states and I didn't mention anything about the top of the shoulder. The question asked if a ball played with the shoulder is a deliberately handled ball. The question didn't specify the top of the shoulder and I answered accordingly. Thanks for reading in to the question extra stuff to make the answer wrong. Appreciate it...



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

To me it seems that Ref Fleischer's answer involves use of the front of the shoulder, not the top. Ref Mueller didn't address what part of the shoulder was being used. We on the panel are very familiar with the illustration in Advice 12.11. Thanks for helping us remind the rest of our readers.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Ref Fleischer's description clearly is concerned with the front of the shoulder and Ref Mueller doesn't address it but you are correct, if a player somehow can use the top of his shoulder to play the ball it's not considered to be part of the hand. The point of the diagram in 12.11 is to emphasize that the practice of using the front and side of the shoulder to play the ball is forbidden.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17535
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>