Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17540

Law 15 - Throw In 10/27/2007

RE: any Under 13

Charlotte Fortner of St. Louis, MO USA asks...

Can any part of a player's foot be over the line (on the field of play) when he/she is throwing in a ball?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Charlotte,
yes part of the foot can be on or over the boundryline as long as some part of the foot remains on or behind line. The line is only 5 inches wide so a foot is longer and since this restart is only designed to get a ball back into play an inch or two is not a great deal to get upset about. The USSF has the ATR (advise to referees) in there are diagrams that show relevant foot positions!
Cheers.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

The question to ask is whether no part of the foot on the field is on the line - now that is a problem! So, if all of the foot is on the field, but none of the foot is touching the line, then it is an illegal throw and will be awarded to the opposite team. However, part of a foot on the line is perfectly acceptable. Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Charlotte. Any PART of each foot must be on or behind the touchline on a throw-in. So, if even just the heel is in contact with the line, it's allowed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17540
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>