Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17545

Law 11 - Offside 10/27/2007

RE: Rec Under 12

Nick of Valley Springs, CA USA asks...

My opponent kicked the ball and it hit his teammate, bouncing off that player toward me, I then kicked the ball and scored a goal. The referee called it off sides. Is this correct? I do not think it should have been off sides because none of my teammates touched the ball, or were off sides.
I would appreciate any responses because I feel I was cheated out of a goal!
Thank you

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Nick,
One can hope the referee would not deliberately cheat you out of a goal. He could be mistaken, forgetting the person who last touched and controlled the ball was an opponent and thus the rebound off the other opponent plays no part in your positional evaluation. If so it is tough luck, it sucks and one can possible hope the referee might seek some mentoring in the future to better understand offside!

However it could well be viewed by the referee as a double deflection, not a controlled last touch by the opponent.
If you were evaluated as offside positioned prior to that 1st defender's kick and the referee considered the attempt to kick by your opponent as not a controlled possession say a despert clearance which was misplayed off his teammate then rebounds to you, you could be considered as gaining an advantage thus offside. This assumes there was an offside evaluation prior to the defender's initial kick you were in an offside position at that point.
The fact the ball was played twice by your opponents will not reset your possible restriction if the referee sees neither of those two touches as controlled possession. Cheers





Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I made this mistake in my first year of reffing, got grief for it and looked it up and found I was wrong. I learned from that. Some refs have 10 years experience; others have 1 year experience repeated 10 times. Unless it was a deflection situation as Ref Dawson describes, have your coach report the ref to the powers that be in your league. That way he will learn from his mistakes rather than repeat them.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Nick. Offside is only judged when the ball is played or touched by a teammate. Unless your teammate played the ball and it somehow deflected off 2 opponents to you, I fail to see how offside could be called given what you have described. Keep in mind that at U12 Rec you are very likely to get a referee that is very inexperienced. Hopefully it was a mental lapse.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17545
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>