Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17549

Law 11 - Offside 10/27/2007

RE: AYSO Under 15

carlos castaneda of lompoc, ca santa barbara asks...

A diret free kick is taking from the penalty arc the defender team moves forwar to leave the opositive team in the outside position two of atakers follow the play and score a gaol. ARE THEY IN THE OUTSIDE POSITION?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If a player is in an offside position at the time of a free kick, and then participates in play, he is offside. If the offside positioned players do not participate - do not play the ball and do not interfere with an opponent, there is no offside call.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Carlos,
One
the offside trap is a dangerous thing it is as a tactic all your team must understand your parts in it. A single late outgoing defender might keep those opponent's onside.
Two
the officiating staff must be experianced enough to recognize it for what it is or does in evaluation of offside position .
Three
A smart opposing team will place or leave some offside people to make you think ah ha we got them , only to send two late onside attackers from a deep position then ah ha they got you!
Four
offside position is not an offence provided they are NEVER involved in the outcome of play. So as long as any offside players that yourtrap caught stay out of the opposition's hair the onside players are granted free reign to score.
Five
What did the officials in your match decide? That my friend is the match condition of the day!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the player was closer to the goalline than ball and 2nd last opponent at moment teammate kicked ball for free kick, then he could be penalized. He would only be penalized if he actually got involved in the play though.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17549
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>