Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17562

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/28/2007

RE: rec. Under 13

Sean P. of Honolulu, Hawaii US asks...

The ball is kicked back to the goalie by his/her own team. What is the penalty and where is the ball placed?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Sean,
man we get asked this question a lot. You need to look over the many responses on the site below are the laws appropriate

Law 12 ? Fouls and Misconduct
Fouls and misconduct are penalised as follows:

Indirect Free Kick
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:

(1)takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession

(2)touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player

(3)touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate

(4)touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate.


The indirect free kick is taken from where the offence occurred.*
* Unless covered by the Special Circumstances listed in Law 8 ? The Start And Restart of Play

Law 8 ? The Start And Restart of Play

Special Circumstances

An indirect free kick awarded to the attacking team in its opponents? goal area is taken from the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the infringement occurred.
Cheers






Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

A goalkeeper may not handle the ball if the ball has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. If he does, an indirect free kick is awarded the opponents at the spot the keeper handled the ball unless the handling occurred inside the goal area in which case the kick will take place from the 6 yard line. Keep in mind that the ball must be deliberately kicked by the teammate and referees are cautioned to know the difference between miskicked balls and ones deliberately kicked to the keeper. Also, FIFA instituted this rule to cut down on time wasting not to penalize a keeper that's performing his or her job properly. Additionally, it should be mentioned that NEVER EVER is a penalty kick to be awarded for ANY keeper handling violation.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

In your case, the ball is kicked to the goalkeeper by his own team, there is no infraction therefore there is no penalty and the ball is not placed anyplace. Nothing is wrong until the keeper touches the ball with his hands. My colleagues have addressed that eventuality rather well.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the kick was a deliberate pass to the keeper, then its an indirect free kick for the opponents at the spot where the keeper touched the ball with hands. If the keeper touched the ball with his hands in the goal area, then the ball is placed on the top of the goal area closest to where the ball was touched with the keepers hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17562
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>