- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17563Law 11 - Offside 10/28/2007RE: Select Under 12 Rob Johnson of Folsom, CA USA asks...Our U12 girls team played a tournament game this morning. At one point, player RED-A dribbles past the last defender, WHITE-A, on a breakaway run. Simultaneously, player RED-B is running down the field, too, roughly parallel to RED-A and also past that last defender (WHITE-A). At about midway between the 18-yard line and the goal, RED-A passes to RED-B who shoots a goal. The AR raised his flag for off-sides and the center ruled no-goal. Is this right?
I am not necessarily disputing the call; I'd just like to understand. It seems that once RED-A has successfully maneuvered the ball past the very last defender, she has met the burden of being onside and should be able to pass to a team mate. The ref's call suggests that each subsequent RED player must in turn meet their own burden of being onside independently. If so, the WHITE team need only deploy a defense of standing at the mid-line knowing that RED would not be allowed to pass once RED is behind them. Or, would it matter in the above scene if the pass were parallel or even aimed backwards a tad?
If you saw US v. Mexico in the most recent Gold Cup Mexico, you may recall Donovan's mad breakaway near the end of the game, where he passes to Beasley who was also past the last defender (identical to the above description; Beasley subsequently missed, point blank). There was no flag or call of off-sides in the pro game.
Is this rule treated differently for pros? Was the AR and center of our game mistaken in their call?
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Rob, Once the two red players were closer to the opposing goal line then the 2nd last White opponent, offside position is determined ONLY by the BALL.
Law 11 offside It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position. A player is in an offside position if: he is nearer to his opponents? goal line than *both* the **ball** and the *second last opponent*.
As Red A dribbles the ball and Red player B keeps abreast and off to the side Red player B must be sure that when RED A takes that last touch of the ball at that exact moment Red player B must be behind or even with the round ball further away from the opposing goal ine. The ball is a round 12 inch wide bit of leather the red player B must have no playable body parts ahead of that leading curved edge of that ball. While static or slow positions make the distinction easier an AR must be lined up with the ball not the 2nd last defender.
Decision 1
In the definition of offside position, "nearer to his opponents' goal line" means that any part of his head, body or feet is nearer to his opponents' goal line than both the ball and the second last opponent. The arms are not included in this definition.
Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Rob. You're leaving out some crucial information but I applaud your wanting to understand. A player is in offside position if he is nearer the opponent's goal than BOTH the next to last opponent and the BALL. You say that Red B is roughly parallel to Red A. That's not enough information. If Red B is even with or behind the ball when Red A plays it, he's NOT in offside position and may participate in play. The lead AR if in proper position has the best view of offside position. Apparantly, the AR saw Red B to be AHEAD of the ball at the moment Red A played it thus he was in offside position and when he played the ball became guilty of an offside offence. Reading the rest of your question it's apparant you're forgetting about the BALL. Anytime an attacking player is even with or behind the ball he cannot be in offside position regardless of the positions of his opponents.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17563
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|