Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17569

Law 11 - Offside 10/28/2007

RE: Level 3 Adult

Edgar of Calgary, Alberta Canada asks...

I was AR in a recent GU16 game and am unsure about a potential offside decision which I did not call.

An attacker was standing in an offside position not interfering with play. A second onside attacker was chasing towards the ball and a defender just got to the ball first and kicked it upfield on the ground away from her goal. A second defender who was chasing back to support the defense ran into the ball and kicked it forwards and the ball went to the attacker who was previously/still standing in an offside position.

I did not flag offside thinking the defence had control of the ball and just messed up the clearance. The defender could have jumped aside and let the ball go upfield and therefore choose to control the ball by kicking it, albeit towards her own goal and the offside player. Later I wondered if the attempted clearance really did count as control and/or if the defender's reflexes were just not quick enough to get out of the way.

I'm wondering how the experts would have called this?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Ok Edgar think this thru. You have described a scenario where not just ONE but TWO opponents have played the ball!!!! Of course you were correct in not calling offside as at this point it should not have even been a consideration. Only judge offside at the moment the ball is played by a teammate. WHile you are correct that a mere deflection by an opponent does not reset offside in this case the opponents have clearly played the ball twice.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Edgar, you describe the opponents as kicking the ball, not once but twice. So who last touched the ball?
Offside describes
Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that **rebounds** to him off an opponent having been in an offside position.
Now in the rarest of circumstances a double deflection might be an outside shot where these kicks were more of lunges with no control or uncontested possession expert or not as an opinion you need to be certain it is so. Was there two rebounds or just one or two mistakes? See Q&A17545
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17569
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>