- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17591Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/30/2007RE: several Other Phil of Fulton, New York USA asks...Today, I saw a referee call a handball on a kid (u15) when he stuck his hand out but did not touch the ball. The coach argued the call and the referee said it was a handball, even though he did not touch it, because he stuck his hand out. Having watched and coached for more than 10 years, I was curious if there is such a "foul" as I have never seen that call before. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Oh my gwad my head hurts!. No there is no foul of attempt to handle the ball deliberately! NO there is no foul of attempt to strike the ball deliberately .
If the player actually threw something at the ball and missed it could be misconduct an INDFK and a cautionable show the yellow card for USB of throwing something but there is NO!! foul for not touching a ball. I too have never seen it but certainly now have heard about it. Please get the necessary information to those who can help this referee in dire need of foul recognition training! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Phil. This is a case of a referee making up rules as he goes along and it's sad he was on any game much less a U15. There is no offence called "attempting to deliberately handle the ball". The player did not contact the ball, there can be no foul. This is such a blatant misapplication of the Laws Of The Game that it's protestable if that affected the outcome of the game.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Wonderful. Sounds ever so splendid a thing to behold. Life is indeed good when a referee of this caliber is on your match. One can learn so much with regard to all the new things that are being tested by him. Next time don't forget to bring a bullet to bite on.
Sorry,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No. The ball needs to actually make contact with the hand for this to be called. It also needs to be handling the ball deliberatly - not just accidentally.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17591
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|