Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17594

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/30/2007

RE: Competive High School

Mitch W. of Lansing, MI USA asks...

On a penalty kick, the goalkeeper stops the shot, the ball rebounds off the keeper's hands and the kicker shoots it into the net. However, a defender infringed Rule 14 by entering the penalty area after the referee's signal and before the penalty kick was taken. Does the advantage rule apply here--i.e., does the goal count, or must the penalty kick be retaken?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The proper technical answer comes from Law 14, If a teammate of the keeper's team infringes the Laws Of The Game before the penalty kick is taken, the referee allows the kick to be taken and if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken. That said, since I'm the center referee and I'm watching for any infringement, I either blow my whistle immediately when the keeper saves the shot or I keep my whistle in my hand and ignore the infringement which in no way altered the outcome anyway.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Mitch,
in my opinion the goal is a far greater asset in justice than the trivial encroachment . As long as the whistle had not sounded before the goal we kick off and perhaps warn the defender not to be so eager the next time. While the PK law 14 states if this occurs we do that, justice was served was it not?

It is felt by many that advantage as per law 5 only applies to the fouls mentioned in law 12. In my opinion a delayed whistle in this incident is more with the effect of the encroachment as trivial to the outcome.

Watch most any PK at the elite level often players from both teams are a bit on the march in pks missed or made with no retake or cancellation. Is it correct? In absolute law no not really, the bar on encroachment is one many of us let slide . I admittedly will allow a stride in as the ball is kicked but if I see a full body both feet this sideon the inside my feeling is it is impossible to be there if the ball is not already kicked. Thus if the ball remains on the pk spot we are in violation and depending on who the result will be altered if need be.

Justice must be even handed even to the team that created the restart so a referee who bends the laws best be very careful of the message he sends and the legacy he leaves for the next referee. Trivial to who and doubtful in what?
Cheers






Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

As my colleagues have stated, the referee should technically stop the match and restart with a PK for the infringement by the defender. The referee could, however, simply ignore the infraction and award the goal here and probably no one would notice. This would be a good use of common sense and understanding the spirit of the game. We have "Book" refereeing and then flexible refereeing. The flexible referee would probably allow the goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17594
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>