- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17596Law 11 - Offside 10/30/2007RE: competitve High School Tony Butler of Sapulpa, Ok USA asks...Offside - a player in his attacking half of the field is clearly in the offside position, recovering from a counter from the opposing team. The opposing team defense tries to switch the field and mis-kicks the ball so that it goes directly to the player in the offside position - should this be interpreted as gaining an advantage by being in the offside position and should subsequently be penalized? I called offside, awarded an indirect free kick going the other way - not one, but both coaches (as well as many parents) gave me grief. offside or no? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Tony, Tony ask yourself, WHO LAST PLAYED the ball with control? I will assume the opposition had the ball under controlled possession and had a few touches of the ball prior to miss kicking the ball? If the opposing team had the ball in a controlled possession and miss kicked it to the offside positioned attacker. This is a gift not necessarily wrapped and under the Christmas tree but a very nice gift all the same.
Reread the first part of law 11 IT is NOT an offence to be in an offside position!
Gaining an advantage has the portion about a rebound off an opponent as not resetting the offside restriction because a rebound changes nothing, what was in effect remains in effect!
You must first be evaluated as being offside positioned when a TEAM MATE last touches/plays the ball.
Here the rebound of the ball off the opponent does not change the fact the attacker was not evaluated for offside position because his team-mate was NOT the last player playing the ball. It was played from an opponent who was in controlled possession but made a mistake. He gave the attacker what should have been a free ride in on his goal I am surprised grief was all you got! Very definitely NOT offside!
Keep in mind that offside restrictions are reset by one of three things occurring.
ONE The one obvious here is the opposition regains UNCONTESTED control and possession of the ball. Thus a teammate is no longer judged as having the last touch/play of the ball! TWO The ball goes out of play either into touch or a foul or a stoppage of some sort> While the offside position might still exist, there are three stoppages where offside is exempt. 50% of the stoppages are next played by an opponent. And as in part three your team mate makes a new touch on the ball thus you are revaluated on offside position criteria. Three When your team mate next touches the ball you are no longer in an offside position either by being farther away from the opposing goal line than the ball or 2nd last opponent or within your own half Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino NO!!!!!!!!! Tony, when is offside judged? AT the moment the ball is played or touched by a TEAMMATE. The ball is clearly played here by an opponent so you shouldn't even worry about the player's position as there can be no offside when the ball is played by an opponent.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino Sorry Tony,
You got this one wrong. Don't fret too much, it happens and you have to live with that. But, now you have learned and I trust that you will not make this same mistake again. The other panelists here have outlined precisely why your decision was wrong so I won't pile on, just I might advice reviewing law 11.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17596
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|