Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17609

Law 11 - Offside 11/1/2007

RE: pro High School

Robert of Glasgow, scotland asks...

does your full body have to be offside

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Whatever part of the body that can legally play the ball that was in an OFFSIDE POSITION can be taken into consideration when making a judgment for an offside infringement.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Here's what US Soccer in Advice To Referees On The Laws Of The Game: "No part of the attacking player other than the arms may be nearer the opponents' goalline than the torso, head, or legs of the second-last defender." They also have 2 diagrams. You can go to ussoccer.org and click on Laws Of The Game to get to this excellent publication



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The any part nearer the goal line than the ball and the last but one [LBO] opponent went away with the 2006 addition of International FA Board Decision 1 of Law 11. In that we read hands and arms don't count, everything else counts and makes the player slip to offside position if any of those parts are nearer the goal line than the ball or the LBO opponent.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17609
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>