- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17610Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/1/2007Daniel of North Hollywood, Calif USA asks...I've been to a slew of MLS games and noticed that the goalie never handles the ball when passed to him by a teammate - but does handle it when the ball was trapped, or headed to him from a teammate. So I asked a buddy "who knows the rules" and he confirmed that exactly.
So I was my kid's AYSO U12 game last weekend and noticed that the goalie handled it when it was directly passed by a teammate - i asked our coach if that was a rule violation, he looked at me like I was crazy. I asked the ref after the game and he looked at me like i was crazy.
So, what's the deal - is this a MLS centric rule? I'm totally confused.
Many kind thanks.
Danny Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher A goal keeper may not handle the ball in their own penalty area if it has been deliberately kicked to him (or to a space that he can play) by a member of his own team. Kicked is defined as using the part of the body below the ankle.
Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher
View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Notice the word "deliberately". When you watch MLS it is always obvious. At U-Littles, it's not so obvious. That said, any certified referee should be able to explain this to you. Oftentimes at AYSO games you do NOT have a USSF certified referee.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Some recreational leagues, and even lower age select, do away with rules they don't seem to think are important. This so-called "pass-back" rule - and that's the way they usually write it - is often one of them.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17610
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|