Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17620

Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/3/2007

RE: Boys-U16 AYSO Rec Under 16

Mike of Chino Hills, CA USA asks...

In a Boys U16 game, the center ref was setting up a penalty kick. The AR tried calling out to the Center Ref and the keeper to let them know that the keeper was standing in front of the goal line. Without noticing, the CR signaled for the penalty kick. The keeper made the save, but the AR raised his flag. The CR now took notice, and the AR explained that the keeper was never on the line. The CR then called for the kick to be retaken, resulting in a goal. Law 13, and Advice for the Referee, state that the referee should not signal until the keeper is on the goal line. Obviously, the CR erred. My questions: 1) Should the keeper be penalized for the CRs mistake - what if the CR signaled while the gk was still getting ready? 2) Should the AR have handled the situation differently? - seems like he did all he could. 3) Did the retake of the penalty kick apply if the keeper was never on the line in the first place - I suspect it does, but want to hear your thoughts. 4) What if it had been a U10 game, would you still retake the kick? Thanks again for all your past help.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You've pointed out the two ways of looking at this:
* the keeper should have known where to stand
* the ref shouldn't have signaled when the keeper was out of position

Now, what to do about it? Either way, the ref has dug himself a huge hole which he will have trouble climbing out of. If he gives the IFK, he's set himself up for the game to be protested as he didn't follow proper procedures. If he gives the goal on a retry, as he did, he's going to have issues with the scored-upon team for the rest of the game. Unfortunately, I think he's going to have to deal with those issues. The missed PK should have never been taken, and it's the ref's fault that it was. Maybe he'll learn to have a better PK routine and pay more attention to the AR's.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Bottom line is the keeper gained an advantage by being off his line regardless of WHEN he got in that position. So, in my mind, he came off his line early and I'd retake the kick also. No way will I reward the keeper by giving an IFK for his team poor mechanics aside



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

You have to consider the team that is taking the penalty kick and what is fair to them, however your matrix fails to do that. It is fundementally unfair to allow the taking of the penalty kick with the keeper off the line, and the ensuing save is the result of the defending team having an unfair advantage. The fairness of the matter dictates a retake is the correct thing to do.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The miscommunication while unfortunate does not nullify the wording of the law which requires the i's dotted and the t's crossed. This is a retake and if assessed the referee would be noted for failure to conduct a simple exercise in communication and mechanics.
The referee should always get eye contact with the AR before any restart to ensure nothing is amiss. A thumbs up or a shake of the head easy to see, go or wait in the body language, follow the pointed finger to the keeper, side step off the goal line.
Keepe,r on your line please! The quick check of the location of all before the signal to begin is one that is not fraught with complication. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17620
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>