Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17625

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/3/2007

RE: Rec Under 18

tony of Orange Park, FL US asks...

I often see goalies bounce the ball on the ground several times on their way to the eighteen to punt it after they have stopped an opponents shot. My understanding of the rules is that the goalie can punt, throw or drop the ball. However after the ball leaves their hands they have to kick or drible the ball but are not allowed to touch it again with their hands.

Questions:

1) If a goalie bounces the ball and touches with his hands again is this a foul?

2) while a goalie is bouncing the ball, is it technically "In Play" after the ball leaves the goalies hands and before it returns to his hands (can an opponent attack at this point)?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

1. No. This is a long held tradition in soccer that the keeper may bounce the ball or throw it up in the air and still maintain control. This exact question was covered at FIFA's official Q&A site a few years back and nothing has changed. 2. Absolutely NOT! While bouncing tha ball the keeper may not be challenged. Thanks for the questions



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Tony ,
It is more nervous tension than any real reason for a keeper to bounce a ball but once a keeper arises to his feet with ball in hand they have 6 seconds of uninterrupted time to get to a location within their area and punt or throw the ball back into play.
NO opponent can do ANYTHING in that time to limit these options in a deliberate fashion.
As a COACH I prefer my keepers NOT to bounce the ball as the ball can react to a low flat wet spot or a bump on the ground and go askew. Same again for the ball hitting the foot by mistake. But it is not illegal for a keeper to bounce the ball and it is illegal for an opponent to try and play it if the ball is within the 6 seconds of non challenge-ability. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17625
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>