Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17644

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/3/2007

RE: comp Under 13

hugh long of aurora, co usa asks...

A ball was thrown in, then almost immediatly kicked back towards the player who had thrown it in. She (the girl who had thrown it in) had come back onto the field (both feet were inbounds), and she reached up with both hands and attempted to catch the ball as it was going out. She touched the ball with both hands, but did not catch it. It fell out of bounds. The ball was definitely going out of bounds, and had probably already crossed the "side line", but her feet were both in bounds when she touched it. What is the proper call?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

If she touched the ball while any part of the ball was still over any part of the field of play including the lines then the referee should sanction the player for deliberately handling the ball. If it had already gone completely off the field of play then you should award a throw in. The position of the players feet are irrelevant.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If the ball had completely crossed over the touchline before she handled it, it's a throw-in for the opponents of whomever kicked it. If the ball had not crossed over then it's deliberately handling the ball and a direct free kick is awarded to the opponents. It doesn't matter where the player's feet were, just the ball and the hands



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Hugh,
attempting to catch is certainly deliberate action so where was the ball when she made hand contact?
The ball location in respect to having been in contact with the five inch touchline determines if a ball is in play or out of play.
The five inch line is as an invisable 5 inch wall extending skyward. If the round ball is in contact with any part of that 5 inch wall be it on the ground or in the air the ball is in play and if deliberately handled it is a dfk offence.
If the ball is stopped completely outside into touch then the ball was into touch already no foul and the player who kicked the ball out determines a throw in for the opposing team.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17644
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>