- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17644Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/3/2007RE: comp Under 13 hugh long of aurora, co usa asks...A ball was thrown in, then almost immediatly kicked back towards the player who had thrown it in. She (the girl who had thrown it in) had come back onto the field (both feet were inbounds), and she reached up with both hands and attempted to catch the ball as it was going out. She touched the ball with both hands, but did not catch it. It fell out of bounds. The ball was definitely going out of bounds, and had probably already crossed the "side line", but her feet were both in bounds when she touched it. What is the proper call? Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino If she touched the ball while any part of the ball was still over any part of the field of play including the lines then the referee should sanction the player for deliberately handling the ball. If it had already gone completely off the field of play then you should award a throw in. The position of the players feet are irrelevant.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If the ball had completely crossed over the touchline before she handled it, it's a throw-in for the opponents of whomever kicked it. If the ball had not crossed over then it's deliberately handling the ball and a direct free kick is awarded to the opponents. It doesn't matter where the player's feet were, just the ball and the hands
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Hugh, attempting to catch is certainly deliberate action so where was the ball when she made hand contact? The ball location in respect to having been in contact with the five inch touchline determines if a ball is in play or out of play. The five inch line is as an invisable 5 inch wall extending skyward. If the round ball is in contact with any part of that 5 inch wall be it on the ground or in the air the ball is in play and if deliberately handled it is a dfk offence. If the ball is stopped completely outside into touch then the ball was into touch already no foul and the player who kicked the ball out determines a throw in for the opposing team. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17644
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|