Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17669

Law 11 - Offside 11/4/2007

RE: rec Under 11

joe of agoura hills , california usa asks...

Attacker dribbles past the defender on the right wing position, she gets to the penalty box on the right corner of it and shoots at the goal hitting the left goal post, the ball bounces out and our left winger kicks it in the goal. the ref cancels the goal, he says that AFTER the ball hit the left goal post our left wing attacker was OFFSIDE. There was NO PASS to the left wing, this should be a live ball after it hit the goal post? YES ??
Thank you Joe

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If that's what the ref said, he didn't explain himself very well. He could have been entirely correct in the call.

If the player who retrieved the ball off the post was in an offside position at the time the shot was taken, offside would be the correct call. The ball didn't need to be passed to him; rather he gained an advantage from his offside position by being able to recover the ball off the rebound.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Not necessarily. If the left wing attacker was in offside position when the shot was taken, he may not participate in play until offside resets. A shot on goal does not reset offside. The ball doesn't have to be passed to this player for him to be guilty of an offside offence. In fact, it doesn't matter where the ball is played, this player may not play it



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Joe,
Offside position for the left winger is established first when the right sided teammate shoots.
If the left sided winger was evaluated as offside positioned when the SHOT occurred ( the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team) then she is restricted from future involvement in play.

What FIFA has implied nothing changes, a rebound of the ball does not free an offside restricted player of the opposing team.

FIFA QUOTE lAW 11 OFFSIDE
"A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team, he is, in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by:
interfering with play or
interfering with an opponent or
gaining an advantage by being in that position.

Decision 2 point 3 law 11 OFFSIDE
-Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that rebounds to him off an opponent having been in an offside position
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

We don't know enough to say whether or not the call was correct or incorrect. If the attacker who ended up scoring the goal was in an offside position at the time the ball was kicked by the first attacker then the referee was correct.

The rebound to the offside positioned left winger results in the player gaining an advantage by being in that position and thus the offside decision is correct.

If the left winger wasn't in an offside position when the first attacker played the ball then there can be no infringement for a violation of Law 11 (offside).



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17669
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>