Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17676

Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/4/2007

RE: Travel Under 12

Karen Goersch of Darien, CT USA asks...

The attacking team had an infraction during a penalty kick whereby an attacking team member went over the line prior to the kick. The penalty kick went into the goal. The ref did not count the goal and play restarted. Afterwards, the attacking team's coach protested, stating that the penalty kick should have been redone. The attacking team lost, 2-1. What should have happend?
Thank you,

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

When a teammate of the kicker infringes, the referee allows the kick to proceed. If the kick does not score, an IFK is awarded to the defending team. If the kick goes into the goal, the kick is retaken. I would be curious as to how the referee restarted play? If he disallows the goal, he HAS to have the penalty kick retaken. His not doing so is a severe misapplication of the Laws Of The Game and is protestable.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Karen,
restarted? HOW?
if an encroachment by the team that was awarded the pk is seen and a goal was scored they are denied the goal and the PK is retaken. A first time affair, often a verbal warning to stay out until the ball is kicked. Subsequent encroachment could be cautioned.

If the PK had missed then the correct restart is an INDFK out from where the encroachment occurred.

What should happen? Well we can hope the referee had an assessor or mentor or some one to help him understand that his actions placed the result in jeopardy as a misapplication of law this is protestable!

This is where the, "What did you think of this??, on the suggestion cards to improve league standards. Suggestions could be used to help make things better instead of just grumble over a mistake! Fix the problem! Educate those who need to know, there are positives in all things if we use them to make the game beautiful as intended.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The referee should have allowed the rekick. Big mistake on his part and consequently the match is now protestable.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

This happened in a FIFA match last year in Bahrain. FIFA agreed that the referee had improperly applied the laws and ordered the entire match replayed based on the protest.

The odd part was that the referee's error benefited the team who protested the result, and they ended up losing the replay. Go figure...



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17676
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>