Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17686

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/5/2007

Scott of Miami, FL USA asks...

What is the correct call? If the ball is at one end of the field and a player strikes another player at the other end of the field, what does the ref call? Clearly the player should be sent off, and according to the rules it is a direct free kick, but from where? At the point of infraction, or at the point where the ball is? The rules also say that stopping the game to issue a red or yellow card is an indirect free kick to the opposing team, but the game would have actually been stopped for striking another player which is a direct free kick. Seems there is some ambiguity here?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Restarts are taken from the point the infraction occurred. (Exceptions for a penalty kick, and for infractions that occur inside the goal area.) So the restart would be where the striking took place.

There is no ambiguity over whether it is a direct or indirect free kick (DFK/IFK). Law 12 says, "commits any other offence, not previously mentioned in Law 12, for which play is stopped to caution or dismiss a player." Since striking was previously mentioned as a DFK offense, the restart is a DFK. The only time it is an IFK is when play was stopped solely for misconduct which did not involve a foul. For example, dissent or some forms of unsporting behavior.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

The correct call is most likely a sending-off for violent conduct, and the restart is a direct free kick from the point where the striking took place (where perp contacted body part of victim). If the striking took place in the penalty area, and it was a defender who did the striking of an opponent, the restart is a penalty kick, with the sending-off. If it was an opponent of the defender who did the striking, it will be a direct free kick out and a sending off of the opponent. If, perchance, the striking was one teammate against another (it happens), there is still a sending off for violent conduct, but the restart is an indirect free kick for the opposing team at the spot of the striking (unless it was in the goal area-special circumstance), because a teammate cannot commit a foul against a teammate, only misconduct. It really is logical, and not at all ambiguous once one has had a bit of time and experience to absorb the nuances. You did very well!



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

There is no ambugity in the Laws. First, an infraction of Law 12 happens at a specific point on the field -- that is where the restart of play is, unless the special circumstances of Law 8 apply or the infraction is a direct free kick offence and is in the player's own penalty area. If the infraction is misconduct alone the restart is indirect free kick. If the infraction is a direct free kick offence as well as misconduct the referee restarts as per the more serious of the two infractions. Here Law 5, bullet 12 is the applicable Law.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

When simultaneous offenses are committed, then the referee should sanction the offending team by punishing the most serious offense. In this case the act of striking an opponent is violent conduct (a type of misconduct) AND a direct free kick foul.

The law says if play is stopped solely to issue a caution or send a player off the field, then the game is restarted with an indirect free kick. In your case, the act of striking is also a foul and thus play is not solely being stopped due to misconduct, it is being stopped to punish a foul. So the restart must be dictated by the foul, thus a direct free kick is given at the point of the offense.

Do not restart play where the ball was - always punish fouls on the field where they occur! (Subject to the special circumstances in law 8.)

Next, before allowing play to restart, you should send the guilty player off for violent conduct and show him a red card.

Wait for the offender to leave the area of the field and its immediate surroundings to ensure he takes no further part in the match.

Only then should you allow the direct free kick to take place.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17686
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>