Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17688

Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/5/2007

RE: High School High School

Beau Berry of Columbus, Wisconsin United States asks...

During a state semi-final game a penalty kick was awarded to the opposing team. The shot was blocked by the keeper. I was wondering if the player that took the kick is allowed to follow his shot and put it in after the keeper saved it?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

If you're talking penalty kicks during regulation play, then yes, the kicker can follow up on a shot blocked by the keeper (assuming no encroachment issues, or other problems). If it is a penalty kick called at the end of regulation time, the kicker cannot kick it a second time, which is also true if we are talking about a tie-breaking procedure after the regulation time has expired.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

I will make an assumption. That is, the referee ordered a penalty kick to be taken during the normal "game" portion of the match. If that is true, then it is perfectly acceptable for the player who took the kick to touch the ball and score if it has been saved by the goalkeeper.

If on the other hand the kick strikes the post or crossbar but no other player has touched it, then the player taking the penalty kick may not touch it again until it has been touched by any other player (an offense punishable by an indirect free kick.)

If this was not an "in-game" penalty kick, and instead was part of the "penalty kick shoot-out" (actually called kicks from the penalty mark) then there is no way the player taking the kick may touch it again - the moment he did it, it would be disallowed and his chance would be over and counted as a miss.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17688
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17897

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>